Wade Macomber Award
About the Award

When Dr. Henry “Wade” Macomber (1894-1983) died after more than a half-century of Burlingame Rotary membership, then-President Ogden White established a memorial service award in his honor.  Each year the award has renewed and fulfilled his promise: “… that the kind of steady, loyal, selfless service epitomized by Wade Macomber will not go unheralded.”

Those who are honored with the Wade Macomber Award have:

  • Been a member in good standing of the Rotary Club of Burlingame for not less than ten years.
  • Contributed, in a number of specifically identified ways in personal service above and beyond normal expectation, to the purpose, objectives and principles of Rotary.
  • Made significant and unique contribution in personal service to the local community measured from the standpoint of personal time, effort and actual accomplishment. 
  • Been recognized, among peers, as a leader, a doer and an accomplisher of special abilities.
  • Demonstrated personal attributes and characteristics which identify the person as a truly outstanding individual.
Past Recipients of the Award

2019 Wade Macomber Recipient, John Delaney2019  John Delaney

2018  Sheryl Young

2017  Jennifer Pence

2016  Paul Nieberding

2015  Jerry Kuehn

2014  Walt Ramseur

2013  Charles Voltz

2012  Mark Lucchesi

2012  Karen Key

2011  Bob Doerr

2010  Jim Shypertt

2009  Mike Heffernan

2008  Don Refvem

2007  Jay Plank

2006  Butch Taylor

2005  Ernie Scheppler

2004  Theodore Kruttschnitt

2003  Mark Johnson

2002  Colman Conneely

2001 Joseph Galligan

2000  Mary Janney

1999  Marilyn Orr

1998  Frederick J. Brauner, IV

1997  Lage Andersen

1996  Charley Mason

1995  Frank Hunt

1994  Basil Emery

1994  Don Lembi

1993  Gary C. Norton

1992  Aldo J. Simonetti

1991  Hjalmar W. Herman

1990  Victor Mangini

1989  Michael R. Harvey

1988  Robert M. Davidson

1987  David Carr

1986  Charles H. Eid

1986  Robert H. Showen

1985  William J. Crosby